Scientific advisory committee

As the industry initiative for sustainability we want to ensure a high standard of sustainability in our projects, guarantee the up-to-dateness of the sustainbility debate and recognize innovations in this area. Leading international scientists support Futouris and its member companies – acting as advisors and partners, but also as critics and challengers!

Together with the Scientific Advisory Committee we developed standards for the Futouris’ projects and define accreditation procedures. Every project applications is being examined by two members of the Advisory Board by means of the sustainability criteria, evaluated and further developed, if necesssary. This procedure enables the continuous comparison of project standards with the newest research knowledge and thus ensures the longterm maintenance and qualification of Futouris’ sustainability claim.

The following international scientists from different disciplines participate voluntarily in the Futouris’ Advisory Board and ensure an up-to-date and intensive debate taking into account the newest knowledge from tourism research:

 

Prof. Dr. Edgar Kreilkamp

kreilkampProf. Dr. Edgar Kreilkamp was the head of the Tourism Management at the Leuphana University Lüneburg. Prof. Kreilkamp has been retired since April 2018, but is still active at the university. He supervises dissertations and leads various research projects, especially on the topics of climate change and tourism, as well as sustainability in tourism. As part of the “Green Travel Transformation” project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the necessary conditions were created to increase the share of sustainable holidays in the tour operator market. The focus was on increasing transparency of sustainable holidays as the basis for objective customer information. The goal of a current follow-up project is to assess the entire travel chain in terms of sustainability. Besides his engagement at Futouris Professor Kreilkamp is active in various innovation and sustainability initiatives, such as the CIST “Center for Innovation & Sustainability in Tourism” or in the “Think Tank of Travel Industry Clubs”.

 


 

Prof. Dr. Jürg Stettler

stettlerProf. Dr. Jürg Stettler is head of the Institute for Tourism Economics ITW as well as vice director and Head of Research at Lucerne School of Business. The Institute concentrates on all relevant questions about the management of tourist destinations as well as about the mobility of people especially in the areas of public transport and leisure travel and tourism transport. Another focus is sustainable development in tourism. Jürg Stettler’s thematic priorities are destination management, sustainable development in tourism, as well as the economic impact, sustainability and legacy of major sporting events. For several years he has also been intensively involved in the topic of overtourism.

 


 

Dr. Christian Baumgartner

Prof. Dr. Christian Baumgartner is a landscape ecologist and founder of response & ability. Before that he has been working for over 20 years in the international NGO sector at “respect – Institute for Integrative Tourism and Development” that he also founded. In addition to his work as a professor for sustainable tourism and international development at the University of Applied Sciences in Grisons, he teaches business ethics in Austria and regularly teaches in an international context (China, Azerbaijan, etc.). He is also a member of numerous national and international tourism advisory boards. Christian Baumgartner specializes in the development and implementation of projects in sustainable tourism and sustainable regional development and has accompanied numerous development projects in Europe and Southeast Asia. He is currently very involved in sustainable tourism development on the Danube and the Balkans as well as in Caucasus (e.g. Georgia) and Central Asia (e.g. Kyrgyzstan).

 


 

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Todt

todtProf. Dr. Dietmar Todt is Professor Emeritus at the Institute for Biology at the Free University Berlin. His voluntary activities for Futouris includes contributions dealing with sustainability relating to nature conservation as well as animal and nature protection. Todt’s special suitability for these topics can be seen – apart from his broad biological knowledge (Phd in Botany – Tübingen 1962 and habilitation in zoology – Feiburg 1970) – also in the great success of specific ecological projects in touristically relevant regions in Africa and Eastasia. As director of the international recognized Berlin Institute for behavioural biology (1975 to 2003) he lead several expeditions and stocktakings of the flora and fauna from the north to the south of the African continent. Professor Todt’s projects in East Asia deal with the protection of river dolphins which are living in Irrawaddy (Myanmar) and in Mekong (Cambodia) and whose existence is threatened. In colloboration with the WWF, the NABU and the LPF the “Research Group Todt” proposed a number of measures to ensure the survival of the dolphins. The proposals can help Thailand and its neighbors to use their river systems more sustainable than currently, also for touristic purposes.

 


 

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher

lunddurlacher

Univ. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher is a full professor at the Institute for Tourism and Service Management at the Modul University of Vienna. She has been researching, teaching and publishing in the field of sustainable tourism for many years, whereby in recent years she has shifted her focus from classic consumer behavior research and marketing to the topics of CSR, climate change, mobility and transformation processes in tourism. She works in numerous international scientific networks and as a scientific and technical consultant for national and international organizations. Dagmar has carried out a number of publicly funded projects in the context of sustainability in tourism. Information on current research projects can be found here.


 

Prof. Dr. Julia Peters

Bewerbung_klassischProf. Dr. Julia E. Peters is a professor for Sustainability and International Management at the Kempten University for Applied Sciences since Juli 2015. Previously she has been a professor for Tourism Management at the IST-University for Management in Düsseldorf. After doing a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration with the focus on “Tourism-, hospitality- and eventmanagement” in Dortmund and Nelson/New Zealand she finished her master in “Tourism and Urban Culture” at the University of Gloucestershire/UK. In 2011 she graduated in “Leisure Time and Tourism Geography” at Trier University and started working at the Hochschule Niederrhein: In the department oecotrophology she has been lecturer of touristic research knowledge to the students of “Catering-, (tourism-) and hospitality services”. She is a member of the Scientific Board of forum anders reisen e.V. and of the German Association for Tourism Studies (DGT e.V.).


 

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schmude

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schmude holds the chair for “Economic Geography and Tourism Research“ at the department for Geography at the Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU) in Munich since 2008. He is also head of the department of Geography. Prof. Dr. Schmude is teaching economic geography in bachelors, masters and professions program. As a member of the SOCRATES exchange program he teaches once a year in Lecce (Italy). His main research focuses on tourism research, sustainability and CSR as well as the geography of France. His main interests lie on economic disparities in general as well as the impacts of global and climate change on tourism. Since November 2015 Schmude is the president of the German Association for Tourism Studies (DGT e.V.).

 


 

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas studied environmental planning with a focus on tourism in Hanover and Seattle. Since 2002 he has been a professor at the faculty of Sustainable Economics at the University of Eberswalde where he directs the Sustainable Tourism Management Master’s programme and the ZENAT Research Centre for Sustainable Tourism. In 2001 he wrote his PhD dissertation on ecotourism in Mexico and Belize. Currently, his work emphasis is on protected area management, tourism in developing countries, corporate social responsibility and certification in tourism, as well as climate protection and adaptation to climate change. Apart from Futouris, Wolfgang Strasdas is a member of the scientific advisory council of forum anders reisen, the certification council of TourCert, the German National Committee on UNESCO Geoparks as well as the jury for the Destination Nature Award, which is granted by the Deutsche Bahn and leading German environmental organisations. Furthermore, he represents Eberswalde University in the BEST Education Network and the European TRIANGLE network for sustainable tourism.

 


 

Downloads:

Förderkriterienkatalog

47.30 KB 3146 downloads

Prozess der Akkreditierung

23.58 KB 1670 downloads

Der Futouris-Wissen­schafts­bei­rat

Als Brancheninitiative für Nachhaltigkeit wollen wir einen hohen Nachhaltigkeitsstandard in unseren Projekten gewährleisten, für Aktualität in der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte sorgen und Innovationen in diesem Bereich erkennen. Führende internationale Wissenschaftler haben sich bereit erklärt, Futouris und die Mitgliedsunternehmen hierbei zu unterstützen – als Berater und Partner, aber auch als Kritiker und Herausforderer!

Gemeinsam mit dem wissenschaftlichen Beirat wurden Projektstandards für Futourisprojekte entwickelt, Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren bestimmt und ein Akkreditierungsverfahren etabliert. Jeder Projektantrag wird von zwei Mitgliedern des Beirates anhand der Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren geprüft, bewertet und ggf. weiterentwickelt. Dieses Verfahren ermöglichen einen kontinuierlichen Abgleich der Projektstandards mit neuesten Forschungserkenntnissen und sorgen für eine langfristige Sicherung und Qualifizierung des Nachhaltigkeitsanspruchs von Futouris. Die folgenden internationalen Wissenschaftler unterschiedlicher Fachdisziplinen engagieren sich ehrenamtlich im wissenschaftlichen Beirat von Futouris und sorgen für einen stets aktuelle, intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den neuesten Ergebnissen der Tourismusforschung:

 

Prof. Dr. Edgar Kreilkamp

kreilkampProf. Dr. Edgar Kreilkamp leitete den Schwerpunkt Tourismusmanagement an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg. Seit 1. April 2018 ist Prof. Kreilkamp im Ruhestand, aber weithin an der Universität aktiv. Er betreut Dissertationen und leitet verschiedene Forschungsprojekte vor allem zu den Themen Klimawandel und Tourismus sowie zur Nachhaltigkeit im Tourismus. Im Rahmen des durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projektes „Green Travel Transformation“ wurden die notwendigen Voraussetzungen geschaffen, um den Anteil nachhaltiger Reisen im Veranstaltermarkt zu erhöhen. Im Fokus stand dabei die Erhöhung der Transparenz über nachhaltige Reisen als Basis einer objektiven Kundeninformation. Das Ziel eines aktuellen Nachfolgeprojektes ist die Beurteilung der gesamten Reisekette in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit. Prof. Kreilkamp ist neben Futouris bei verschiedenen Innovations- und Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen aktiv, so unter anderem beim CIST „Center for Innovation & Sustainability in Tourism“ oder im „Think Tank des Travel Industry Clubs“.

 


 

Prof. Dr. Jürg Stettler

stettlerProf. Dr. Jürg Stettler ist Leiter des Instituts für Tourismuswirtschaft ITW sowie Vizedirektor und Ressortleiter Forschung der Hochschule Luzern – Wirtschaft. Das Institut beschäftigt sich mit allen relevanten Fragestellungen zur Führung und Steuerung von touristischen Destinationen sowie zur Mobilität von Personen insbesondere im Bereich des öffentlichen Verkehrs und des Freizeit- und Tourismusverkehrs. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt bildet die nachhaltige Entwicklung im Tourismus. Jürg Stettlers thematische Schwerpunkte sind das Destinationsmanagement, die nachhaltige Entwicklung im Tourismus sowie die volkswirtschaftlichen Wirkungen, die Nachhaltigkeit und das Vermächtnis von Sportgrossveranstaltungen. Seit mehreren Jahren beschäftigt er sich zudem intensiv mit dem Thema Overtourism.

 


 

Hon. Prof. Dr. Christian Baumgartner

Prof. (FH) Dr. Christian Baumgartner ist Landschaftsökologe und Gründer von response & ability. Zuvor war er als Gründer von respect – Institut für Integrativen Tourismus und Entwicklung 20 Jahre im internationalen NGO Bereich tätig. Neben seiner Arbeit als Professor für Nachhaltigen Tourismus und internationale Entwicklung an der Fachhochschule Graubünden lehrt er Wirtschaftsethik in Österreich und unterrichtet regelmäßig im internationalen Kontext (China, Aserbaidschan u.a.). Des weiteren ist er Mitglied in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Beratungsgremien im Tourismus. Christian Baumgartner ist spezialisiert auf Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Projekten im nachhaltigen Tourismus und nachhaltiger Regionalentwicklung und hat zahlreiche Entwicklungsprojekte in Europa und Südostasien begleitet. Derzeit ist er sehr engagiert in der nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung an der Donau und am Balkan sowie im Kaukasus (z.B. Georgien) und Zentralasien (z.B. Kirgistan).

 


 

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Todt

todtProf. Dr. Dietmar Todt ist Emeritus am Institut für Biologie der Freien Universität Berlin. Seine ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit für Futouris besteht in Beiträgen zur Nachhaltigkeit, die sich aus Aspekten des Naturschutzes sowie des Tier- und Artenschutzes ergeben. Dafür bringt er eine besondere Eignung mit. Diese zeigt sich – außer in seiner großen biologischen Breite (Promotion im Fach Botanik – Tübingen 1962 und Habilitation im Fach Zoologie – Feiburg 1970) – auch im großen Erfolg spezifischer Öko-Projekte in touristisch wichtigen Regionen Afrikas und Ostasiens. Als Direktor des international renommierten Berliner Instituts für Verhaltensbiologie (1975 bis 2003) hat er zahlreiche Expeditionen geleitet und Bestandserhebungen zur Tier- und Pflanzenwelt vom Norden bis in den Süden des afrikanischen Kontinents durchgeführt. Professor Todts Projekte in Ostasien haben mit dem Schutz von Flussdelphinen zu tun, die im Irrawaddy (Myanmar) und im Mekong (Kambodscha) leben, aber in ihrer Existenz bedroht sind. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem WWF sowie dem NABU und der LPF hat die „Research Group Todt“ eine Reihe von Maßnahmen vorgeschlagen, die dem Überleben der Delfine dienen sollen. Die Vorschläge können Thailand und seinen Nachbarn helfen, ihre Flusssysteme nachhaltiger als bisher zu nutzen, und zwar auch touristisch.

 


 

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher

lunddurlacher

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher ist ordentliche Professorin am Institut für Tourismus- und Dienstleistungsmanagement an der Modul-Universität Wien. Sie forscht, lehrt und publiziert seit vielen Jahren im Bereich des nachhaltigen Tourismus, wobei sie ihren Fokus von der klassischen Konsumentenverhaltensforschung und des Marketings in den letzten Jahren insbesondere auf die Themen CSR,  Klimawandel, Mobilität und Transformationsprozesse im Tourismus gelegt hat.  Sie ist in zahlreichen internationalen wissenschaftlichen Netzwerken, sowie als  wissenschaftliche und technische Beraterin für nationale und internationale Organisationen tätig. Dagmar hat an einer Reihe von öffentlich-finanzierten Projekten im Kontext Nachhaltigkeit im Tourismus durchgeführt. Informationen zu aktuellen Forschungsprojekten sind hier zu finden.

 


 

Prof. Dr. Julia Peters

Bewerbung_klassischProf. Dr. Julia E. Peters ist seit Juli 2015 Professorin für Nachhaltigkeit und Internationales Management an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Kempten. Zuvor war sie zwei Jahre lang Professorin für Tourismusmanagement an der IST-Hochschule für Management in Düsseldorf. Sie absolvierte nach ihrem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit Schwerpunkt „Tourismus-, Hospitality- und Eventmanagement“ in Dortmund sowie in Nelson/Neuseeland einen Master in „Tourism and Urban Culture“ an der University of Gloucestershire/UK. 2011 promovierte sie am Fachbereich „Freizeit- und Tourismusgeographie“ der Universität Trier und nahm eine Tätigkeit an der Hochschule Niederrhein auf: Am Fachbereich Ökotrophologie war sie im Studiengang „Catering-, (Tourismus-) und Hospitalityservices“ mit der Vermittlung der touristischen Inhalten betraut. Sie ist Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat von forum anders reisen e.V. und in der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tourismuswissenschaft (DGT e.V.).

 


 

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schmude

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schmude ist seit 2008 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Wirtschaftsgeographie und Tourismusforschung am Department für Geographie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Er ist außerdem Direktor des Departments für Geographie. Prof. Dr. Schmude lehrt Wirtschaftsgeographie im Bachelor-, Master- und Lehramtsstudienprogramm in München. Als Mitglied des SOCRATES Austauschprogramms lehrt er außerdem einmal jährlich in Lecce (Italien). In seiner Forschungstätigkeit beschäftigt sich Prof. Dr. Schmude im Schwerpunkt mit den Themen Tourismusforschung, Nachhaltigkeit und CSR sowie der Geographie Frankreichs. Sein Hauptforschungsinteresse gilt den wirtschaftlichen Disparitäten im Allgemeinen sowie den Auswirkungen des globalen Wandels und des Klimawandels auf den Tourismus. Seit November 2015 ist er Präsident der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tourismuswissenschaft e.V. (DGT).

 


 

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas hat in Hannover und Seattle Landschaftsplanung mit Schwerpunkt Tourismus studiert und ist seit 2002 Professor am Fachbereich Nachhaltige Wirtschaft der Hochschule Eberswalde: Er leitet dort den Master-Studiengang Nachhaltiges Tourismusmanagement und das Forschungs-Zentrum für Nachhaltigen Tourismus (ZENAT). 2001 promovierte er zum Thema Ökotourismus in Mexiko und Belize. Seine derzeitigen Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Schutzgebietsmanagement, Tourismus in Entwicklungsländern, Corporate Social Responsibility und Zertifizierungen im Tourismus sowie Klimaschutz und Anpassung an den Klimawandel. Neben Futouris ist Wolfgang Strasdas Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des forum anders reisen, im Zertifizierungsrat von TourCert, im Deutschen Nationalkomitee für UNESCO Geoparks sowie in der Jury für den Fahrtziel Natur Award der Deutschen Bahn und führender deutscher Umweltorganisationen. Die Hochschule Eberswalde vertritt er im BEST Education Network und im europäischen TRIANGLE Netzwerk für nachhaltigen Tourismus.

 


 

Downloads:

Förderkriterienkatalog

47.30 KB 3024 downloads

Prozess der Akkreditierung

23.58 KB 1604 downloads